Tag Archives: Pulp Literature issue 1

Pulp Literature Advent Calendar ~ 1 December

With twenty-four fabulous back issues, one to mark each day of Advent, we hope to share with you the joy and magic of the season. When you purchase an issue on its corresponding day, not only will you be collecting great literature, but you will also receive a special gift.

Today is the first day of Advent, and the issue that holds the secret prize is Issue 1, Winter 2013

In our first issue of Pulp Literature Magazine:

  • Michael1OctWhere the Angels Wait, a haunting contemporary short story by  CC Humphreys
    “I was immediately enchanted by the flow of words, the beautiful pictures painted and the emotions evoked by the writing.  The story struck close to my heart.“ – Erin Ensor
  • Stella Ryman and the Third Option, a novella by Mel Anastasiou
    “Stella Ryman is my new hero! I love the way the very observant author has woven dementia and lucidity and humour together. “ – SL
  • Poetry by Beverly Boissery
  • Post-apocalyptic imaginings with classic Canadian tone in Only the Loons Know,  by SL Nickerson
  • A touch of swordplay and slapstick, buddy-cop style, in Of Siege and Sword, by Tyner Gillies
    “Straight-up funny!” – ND
  • The award winning short story, Glass Curtain, by Susan Pieters
    “Just re-read [Glass Curtain].   I enjoyed it even more the second time through.  The narrator’s voice is almost painfully honest, vulnerable, inviting the reader in.  And there is this strong tide of yearning. Like an undertow.  Very well done.” – S. Stopforth
  • The Mechanics, a cautionary tale by talented cartoonist Angela Melick.
  • Epic Fantasy and base sibling rivalry in Allaigna’s Song by JM Landels
    “Love [this] fantasy, so atmospheric” – CC Humphreys
  • Exquisite cover art by Melissa Mary Duncan!

Order your copy here

Pulp Literature Issue 1

A daily email countdown

If you’d like to take the element of chance out of the equation, sign up for our daily email where we will crack open each window early.  We’ll give you a heads-up on the day’s bonus before you buy, along with an inspirational quote from Your Writing Muse.

The Mega-Deal

And if fear of missing out has you worried, we have a super offer for you:  buy our complete six-year collection in print or digital form at any point during the 24 days before Christmas, and you’ll receive all the bonus gifts!

As we begin this holiday season and our look back at the great issues of the past, I feel the same suspense I did as a child, knowing that with each day comes the treasure of the season’s familiar comforts and of the unexpected surprises along the way.

Sign up for our Advent Calendar here, and explore back issues of the magazine here.

Author News: CC Humphreys

You remember Issues 1 and 14 feature author, CC Humphreys, don’t you? Allow us to refresh your memory … he’s the swashbuckling thespian and prolific author whose historical fiction and young adult novels have topped the charts.

Sound familiar? Well, longtime fans and newcomers alike, take note! CC Humphrey’s new historical fiction novel, Chasing the Wind, is now available through Amazon or the Penguin Random House website!

Set in 1936 during Hitler’s Olympics, Chasing the Wind tells the story of Roxy Loewen, a morally ambiguous pilot following the path of a rare painting across a politically turbulent Europe and North Africa.

Smuggler. Smoker. Aviatrix. Thief. 

The dynamic Roxy Loewen is all these things and more, in this riveting and gorgeous historical fiction novel for readers of Paula McLain, Roberta Rich, Kate Morton and Jacqueline Winspear.

Those of you who are on Salt Spring Island on June 20th, or in the Vancouver area June 21st are welcome to attend the launches  as well!

 

Aurora Nominee Melissa Mary Duncan

Congratulations to Melissa Mary Duncan. She is nominated in the Best Artist category for the Aurora awards. This is Melissa’s second nomination.

A Pulp Literature Favourite

We are big fans of Melissa’s work. Managing Editor Jen Landels found Melissa while we were putting together Issue 1 of Pulp Literature.  The Beer Fairy became the first compelling visual for the magazine.

We always find it hard to choose among her bewitching works.   Melissa also created the covers for Issue 5, Fondly Remembered Magic, Issue 12, The Story Teller, and soon-to-be-released Allaigna’s Song: Overture, by JM Landels.

 

Melissa writes: “My inspiration comes from only one source. When I draw or paint the subject may be sparked from a Celtic legend, a tale from the Brother’s Grimm, the lyric from an ancient ballad or the melody of a carol but the finished painting and whatever the viewer finds in it comes from the heart.More here.

Melissa lives in the historic city of New Westminster, British Columbia with her husband, author dvsduncan. Having a playful inner landscape, she confesses to having a hat addiction, wearing Edwardian clothing, reading in the bath, and watching British dramas whilst drinking lemonade. A proud mother of two and grandmother of three, Melissa remains a student of Celtic, English and Northern European history and mythology.

We love  Melissa’s calendar, and her gorgeous, magical, book Faye: The Art of Melissa Mary Duncan.   Her new book, Sketches on the Road to Elfland,  will be out in time for Christmas.  Melissa also has a video coming out soon on the process of her art. Check out her trailer message here.

Amazon reviews of Melissa Mary Duncan ’s work

“LOVELY BOOK fabulous artist!!!! a must own if you love fantasy art.”

“Sometimes whimsical, sometimes haunting, always exquisitely detailed and beautiful, Melissa Mary Duncan’s artwork is full of folkloric, historic, and classical influences, as she shows us glimpses of a world which surely must be right behind the next tree. Each piece has a tale to tell, and every time I look through this book I see something new tucked in a border or hidden in the background which I hadn’t seen before.”

“The pictures are beautiful at first look and extraordinary when you look closer and see all of the nuances she builds into each piece of art. The anecdotal stories in the book are a very special insight into the artist and her daughters which adds a heart-warming personality to each piece.”

 

 

 

 

Interview with a Faerie

It must have been quite a feat, but somehow artist Melissa Mary Duncan managed to track down and extract some answers from that cheeky, ephemeral creature, first face of Pulp Literature, the Beer Faerie.

Beer Fairy by Melissa Mary Duncan
‘Beer Fairy’ by Melissa Mary Duncan
  1.  What is your idea of perfect happiness?  Hmmm, I am the Beer Faerie, so my idea of perfect happiness is? … Beers! All of them! The pale ones, the stout ones.  Amber or Dark.  The fruit  ones.  The Belgian.  German.  Lager.  Root.  Birch.  Wheat and hops the perfect blend. Rowan and Winter and Cream.  They each have their charm and place. When brewing I am happiest.
  2. What is your greatest fear? The Temperance Movement.
  3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?    My inability to   always think things through with clarity.
  4. What is the trait you most deplore in others?  Unrepentant, joyless sobriety.
  5. On what occasion do you lie?  How dare you!  A Faerie never lies.  WE of the glorious Fey prevaricate.
  6. What do you most dislike about your appearance?  The crown of greens can be a little itchy.  Outside of that I am perfect in every way!
  7. Which words or phrases do you most overuse?  Profanity.
  8. When and where were you happiest?  Seems that I am mostly always happy.   Prohibition was a bit of a downer but I managed enough mischief to keep things hopping.  Hopping!  Get it? Seriously, I miss  the days of yore when beer was the staple beverage of everyone, back when no one blinked an eye at a beer ration of several liters a day!  Those were good times.  I was needed then … Now? Not so much.
  9. Which talent would you most like to have?  The ability to sing like an angel.  Have you ever heard an Angel sing?  Well, if you had you would know what I mean.  Intoxicating!
  10. What do you consider your greatest achievement?  My charm.  My wit.  My cunning.  Sooo many to choose from!
  11.  What is your most treasured possession?  My magic cauldron.
  12. What is your most marked characteristic? Mischief.
  13. Who are your favourite writers? Hmm. I like Charles deLint, Bram, Charles Dickens, and those brothers … Grimm.
  14. What is your greatest regret? I do not regret. I live in the moment and in hope.
  15. How would you like to die?  I am a Faerie, I will not die. Although I am not quite immortal either … I think Master Tolkien said it best.  He is an okay writer too.  I shall go into the West and remain, Beer Faerie!
  16. What is your motto?  Bottom’s up!
  17. What is something we’d never glean about you from the cover of Pulp Lit #1?  I do community work for displaced Gnomes and Hedgerow Pixies. I also feed homeless moles.

    'Fondly Remembered Magic' by Melissa Mary Duncan
    ‘Fondly Remembered Magic’ by Melissa Mary Duncan

Melissa Mary Duncan lives in the historic city of New Westminster, British Columbia with her husband, author dvsduncan.  Having a playful inner landscape, she confesses to having a hat addiction, wearing Edwardian clothing, reading in the bath, and watching British dramas whilst drinking lemonade. A proud mother of two and grandmother of three, Melissa remains a student of Celtic, English and Northern European history and mythology. Her painting “Fondly Remembered Magic” will be the cover of Pulp Literature Issue 5.

You can meet Melissa in person at the Surrey Museum on Saturday, November 15th from 1 – 4pm, where she will be talking about all things Viking.

Print copies of Pulp Literature Issue 1, featuring the Beer Faerie, are in limited supply and currently only available through our Kickstarter campaign.